Song of Ariel News

For those who have been waiting for the complete novel, in a few days it will be going to the editor. Not sure yet of the release date, but hopefully it won’t take too long.

ariel small - Copy (4)

Also, in writing Song of Ariel I realized that the story and its title begged for a song. As some of you may already know, years before I began writing novels, I was a musician/singer/songwriter. I’ve never stopped being a musician. Making music has and always will be an integral part of my life.

A few years ago, I wrote a song entitled Down through the Ages. I never recorded the song, but it has always been a fan favorite in my live performances. I did not realize until more than halfway through writing Song of Ariel that the song had subliminally inspired the novel. When the moment of realization hit me, it was like a bolt of lightning. I knew then how the novel would proceed and ultimately conclude.

I have decided to record Down through the Ages. I haven’t decided if it will be a full blown production or if it will just be me singing with a simple acoustic guitar accompaniment. Time issues may make the decision for me. In any event I would like to try something that, as far as I know, has never been done before. I would like to include a digital download of Down through the Ages (Ariel’s Song) with every purchase of the novel. I’m not sure how this would work logistically. I’ve sent Amazon a query describing what I’d like to do, and asked them if this was even possible. If they can’t work it out as part of the same package then I will offer the tune as a separate digital download through sites like I-Tunes.

So anyway, that’s where we stand as of now.  Thank you so much, dear reader, for your continued support and eternal patience, for you are the force that keeps me on the path.

Mark

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song of Ariel News

  1. Joe Mullins says:

    Hey Mark, Autumn Kalquist has written and published several songs relating to her books; the Fractured Era series. I’m really interested to hear your music!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the info, Joe. I didn’t realize anybody had done this. Good to hear and I’ll certainly check out Autumn’s books and music.
    The ebook version of the complete novel, Song of Ariel will be published in a few weeks, followed by the paperback and audio versions. The related song, Down Through the Ages has not yet been recorded, but that will come soon after.
    Thanks again,
    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

